Ethiopian Erkesso runs off with Boston women’s win

2010 Boston Marathon winner Teyba Erkesso
2010 Boston Marathon winner Teyba Erkesso from Ethiopia


BOSTON — Ethiopia’s Teyba Erkesso (TAY-ee-bah Er-KESS-oh) is the women’s champion at the Boston Marathon.

Erkesso won in an unofficial time of 2 hours, 26 minutes, 11 seconds. That was three seconds ahead of Russia’s Tatyana Pushkareva (Ta-tee-Ah-nah Poosh-kar-rYO-vah) — the third-closest women’s finish in event history.

Erkesso broke away from the pack with 11 miles to go and opened a 90-second lead. But she began holding her stomach in Cleveland Circle, with about four miles to go, and Pushkareva closed the gap to 16 seconds as they approached the 1-mile mark at Kenmore Square.

It’s Ethiopia’s fifth women’s victory.

THIS IS A BREAKING NEWS UPDATE. Check back soon for further information. AP’s earlier story is below.

BOSTON (AP) — The Boston Marathon has started. And this year, there are Americans among the contenders.

New York City Marathon winner Meb Keflezighi (kef-LEZ-ghee) and fellow Californian Ryan Hall are hoping to give the United States its first men’s win since 1983. First prize is up to $150,000.

There are more than 26,000 runners registered for the 114th edition of the race. Among them are defending champions Deriba Merga (Deh-REE-bah MARE-gah) of Ethiopia and Salina Kosgei (Sa-LEE-na KOS-gay) of Kenya are back, hoping to repeat.

The wheelchair racers led the way across the start with temperatures in the high 40s and a headwind of 13 mph.